Going to help in class next week, should I tell the NQT that...

(17 Posts)
Imsosorryalan Wed 20-Nov-13 21:25:22

I am a teacher and have 13 years experience behind me?
He asked me to come in and help with sticking work in books and then progress onto groups and possibly reading one to one if I could cope with it!

I didn't have the heart to tell him. I also don't want him to feel intimidated but wondered if I should slip It in conversation.

SatinSandals Wed 20-Nov-13 21:28:08

Definitely.

SatinSandals Wed 20-Nov-13 21:29:03

Sorry - not clear. I would, you can do it nicely and assure him that you are just helping.

MrsBazinga Wed 20-Nov-13 21:35:08

Absolutely! It's professional courtesy. But then be happy to do whatever is needed in the role of parent helper. It's a hard balance, but just be sensitive and supportive. I'm sure he'll be grateful knowing. And good for you. It's lovely helping.

ToucanBlack Wed 20-Nov-13 21:35:14

Yes definitely. Then he can decide how best to utilise your skills to benefit his class. (Which may still be sticking work in books, if that's what needs to be done!)

Not saying is silly and the Teacher may feel embarrassed if they find out later.

Euphemia Wed 20-Nov-13 23:02:07

It would be very weird NOT to say!

SatinSandals Thu 21-Nov-13 06:31:06

It will be quite difficult if you don't as he will waste time telling you things that you don't need to be told!

MiaowTheCat Thu 21-Nov-13 08:46:13

Tell him - it might mean he can use you better with other stuff (and that he's not going to have to explain things as fully to you).

RosemaryandThyme Fri 22-Nov-13 22:14:49

I'm a new LSA, with 10 years as a teacher - I didn't mention it for the first couple of weeks, I felt it was important that NQT was comfortable with me and saw that I would happily sharpen pencils, pop in with emergency tea and bickies, dig deep in the lost property box for that elusive glove, cone off piles of sick etc