Any Secondary Teachers that can give me a few pointers please?

(34 Posts)
cantthinkofanythingwitty Sun 03-Nov-13 19:45:30

Hi,

Just have a few questions really. I am just starting out with uni, but I am 99% sure that it is secondary age children that I would like to teach. I seem to be able to find information about primary school teacher however, there doesn't seem to be that much re getting into secondary school teaching.

I have been given the impression that I would need to teach/or be able to teach two subjects. Is this correct? If so do you have any idea whether this would mean having to do two degrees' or just a brief overview of another subject. I was also told that I may be limited in the hours I could teach within a secondary school, however when I asked for more information, they had no more information to offer.

If you have any help or guidance you could offer, I would be extremely grateful.

Thanks

Ilovepsychology Sun 03-Nov-13 21:43:25

I gained a psychology degree. I have completed a psychology PGCE, the course has only been in existence 5/6 years I think. I work in a secondary school and teach full time. Only teaching psychology. I have done some sociology in the past but now just teach psychology. Some of my friends are also full time psychology teachers others also teach sociology or health and social care. So two degrees are not necessary, I was told you need an A level in the subject to be able to teach it but I'm not 100% sure about that.

Kayakinggirl86 Sun 03-Nov-13 21:34:17

I did I Pgce in humanities (geography, history,RE, citizenship, and phse) there were a few people on my course who had done psychology degree.
I know the psychology teacher at my current school (she also is forced to teach history and re to fill time table) did a Pgce in citizenship. Once you have qts you can (be forced in to) teaching what ever you feel confident in.
I teach English history after doing Scottish archeology at university!