Unconventional teaching methods

(17 Posts)
UrgentNews Sun 03-Nov-13 10:13:02

Hi everyone, I thought I might as well make my first post in the education section, being as I'm an English teacher. I'd also like to thank everyone I've me so far for being so friendly.

Quite a few colleagues have criticised me for letting my students call me Dave instead of Mr Jackson; however I think it helps to break down boundaries and makes you more approachable. So my question is, do any of you have any 'unconventional' teaching methods? and is your senior management more supportive of new ideas than mine is?

FunnyLittleFrog Sun 03-Nov-13 10:18:57

Sorry, I have never heard of a teacher using their first name or of a SLT who would be in favour of it tbh.

UrgentNews Sun 03-Nov-13 10:44:13

I had the idea when I saw a documentary about Summerhill a few years ago and asked the dictator head if I could give it a shot when I moved to my current school. She loves he idea but the deputy head hates it with a passion almost as much as I hate hate him

ParkerTheThief Sun 03-Nov-13 10:46:59

Thing is, at Summerhill it's a whole school culture. I think having you do it while every other teacher is Mrs/Miss/Mr seems a bit odd.

missmapp Sun 03-Nov-13 10:49:03

A few teachers in our school let children call them Mr D or whatever instead of Mr Davis. This seems to do what you are after without upsetting SLT as much. The thing with 'call me Dave' is it really needs to be a whole school approach or you are going to face problems.

Lottiedoubtie Sun 03-Nov-13 10:49:19

I think if you want to be called by your first name, you need to work in a school where this is standard practice.

It's not 'unconventional' otherwise, it's confusing and disruptive to the orderly running of the school.

SilverApples Sun 03-Nov-13 10:50:17