Calling all primary school office staff - secretaries, bursars, admin officers, school managers!

(8 Posts)
LoxLass Sun 08-Sep-13 12:35:30

Would you be able to spare me a moment and tell me what sort of office set-up you have, and who takes responsibility for various tasks?

We have a part-time bursar (me!) and full time secretary. I would love to know how other schools handle admissions/appeals/waiting lists/getting quotes for building works/ordering stationery/handling/banking/chasing dinner/trip money etc etc. I have no idea if our set us is normal or strange (this is my first time bursar role, in case you hadn't guessed smile).

pensandpaperclips Mon 09-Sep-13 13:55:33

I've worked in several schools and the usual setup goes along these lines:

Secretary does:
-Admissions
-General supplies ordering
-Updating details/data input
-Sorting out new pupils, beginning of term procedures
-Letters/communications to parents
-Relaying messages

Bursar (increasingly known as business managers!) does:
-Getting quotes
-Banking
-Chasing money
-Anything to do with money...
-Sometimes health & safety
-Insurance

If you're feeling put-upon, how about have a meeting with the head to divide up responsibilities fairly? IME admin staff can often end up with too big a load unless they are strict with boundaries.

I'm a part time bursar too. Very part time - 7 hours a week, which limits what I can achieve. However I work with 2 almost ft finance assistants who are very experienced and capable.

They do most of the admin and I waltz in and perform the reconciliations, do the budget, forecast and governors' reports.

This set up is fairly new as I only started last term so we've yet to see how sustainable it is, though so far so good.

I'd be happy to speak by PM if you would like more detail. smile

LoxLass Tue 10-Sep-13 12:35:06