Inflating Your CV

(7 Posts)
FrauMoose Mon 02-Sep-13 15:38:14

Thanks. There seems to be a range of opinions about embellishing/bigging oneself up. The LinkedIn material continues to be added to - and I think there are areas where very thin ice indeed is being skated on.

Peachyjustpeachy Sat 17-Aug-13 23:30:01

I used to be a hr manager for 20 years. We had chap apply in his 50s, with a degree and everything. Put on his cv that he had Latin olevel.

He didn't get the job because the chap interviewing with me was in the same class and did the same Latin exam. He said that the interviewee couldn't have passed his olevel on that date because onlynone person passed. And it was the interviewer!

I thought it could have been a genuine mistake, so we asked him about it and he admitted he lied. We couldn't give him the job having admitted that he lied on his application forms.

That was in education too. You have to be really careful because the interviewers are spending public money, so they have to justify every appointment. How can you appoint someone that you know has lied?

Also have sacked someone because they enhanced their cv with skills they didn't have, that related exactly to the job, but we had to gothrough a very thorough investigation that she said was very stressful.

If you can't get a job without lying......

It's much better to talk about what you are capable of...and what you'd really love to do....enthusiasm is a good point,

Pm me if you need any more tips

BettyBotter Sat 17-Aug-13 23:18:27

Has she told outright lies (changing dates or inventing jobs or qualifications) or has she just written the cv to imply things which she hasn't actually said?