Are private schools obliged to report levels chn are working at?

(10 Posts)
StuffezLaBouche Mon 11-Mar-13 18:53:43

Just that really. A friend of mine is unhappy at her children's school because she hasn't a clue where her children are in relation to age related expectations. She's just returned from parents evening where the teacher has jut told her 'not to worry, they're doing well.'
She asked for exact levels and he said its not school policy. When she persisted he reluctantly said he would give them to her next week, but was not happy.

I tutor these children and there are some aspects of what the children say that make me a bit hmm about the school's way of doing things, but I haven't mentioned these to mum.

I must admit I have no knowledge of the private system... Can anyone enlighten me?

Knowsabitabouteducation Wed 13-Mar-13 05:14:51

No, not obliged.

They do have to have a robust reporting system though, just not through the blunt instrument of NC levels.

Labro Thu 14-Mar-13 20:13:50

as above, they have to prove they have a reporting system, ie my ds indie does written reports for core subjects every 6 weeks and all subjects at the end of each term, below Yr 6 children have effort grades 1-4 (1 being exceptional, 4 being inadequate) yrs 6-8 have effort 1-4 and attainment A* - C which relate to their potential in relation to CE

LIZS Thu 14-Mar-13 20:17:05

No , NC doesn't apply except in EYFS if they claim LA funding for 3 & 4 yr olds

Hulababy Thu 14-Mar-13 20:24:01

My DD's school doesn't do SATs or use NC levels to assess work, therefore I do not know what level she is at. I do know how she is doing at school though, and it is reported on her school reports (3 a year) if she is working above national standards or not. They have their own school assessments, with "test week" three times a year in juniors.