Nervy about observations.

(22 Posts)
mycatoscar Tue 13-Nov-12 21:10:48

Does anyone else get really really wound up about observations?

Ever since an ofsted about a year ago I seem to have developed a real thing about being observed. I found out yesterday I'm bring observed later this week by a group of head teachers whilst they visit our school. I'm absolutely terrified and this is the way I feel every time I know I'm being observed. I keep getting panicky and tearful and have been physically sick with the worry about it.

I'm fed up with feeling like this, I've got ten years experience and other than the ofsted where I got satisfactory on one small element I normally get good in observations. It's not normal to feel like this is it? I sat here crying. I imagine crashing the car or breaking my leg and not having to go in on observation day.

I love my job, I love teaching my class. I hate observations sad

pudding25 Tue 13-Nov-12 21:19:37

You are not alone. I absolutely hate observations too. We are due Ofsted sometime soon and I feel sick at the thought.

mycatoscar Tue 13-Nov-12 21:22:08

Glad it's not just me being weird pudding wink we too are expecting ofsted come new year and am trying very hard nog to think about it.

Chottie Tue 13-Nov-12 21:29:14

I don't thing anyone really likes OTLs. Think about past obs and how you successfully completed them. Read through the criteria and ensure you are fully prepared. Good luck {}

mycatoscar Tue 13-Nov-12 21:43:04

That's rational thinking chottie thank you. Just wondering how I got from being normally nervous and a big worried about obs to the point where I am now, physically throwing up at the thought of being observed and having episodes of my heart leaping out of my chest and my hands shaking. I need to find a way to calm down and get over this feeling blush it's ridiculous.

cricketballs Tue 13-Nov-12 21:43:21