My cat has started yowling - help!

(8 Posts)
fussychica Sun 21-Apr-13 12:52:21

About 8 weeks ago my 8 year old neutered tom did a very uncharacteristic thing - he sprayed indoors. Virtually from that moment he makes a terrible noise pretty much whenever he isn't asleep or eating. He has been to the vet who could find nothing wrong with him and suggested nothing confused.
He has a sister who is quiet and disinterested in this new noise.

He sounds like he has lost something - at first we thought it was when he couldn't see his sister but that's not the case.

It's driving us nutty. Any thoughts?

IAmNotAMindReader Sun 21-Apr-13 15:50:18

I'm not an expert but when you said he sounds like he's lost something got me thinking he is calling to something.

The only thing I can think of that may produce that response in a male cat is a female in season. I know you say he has been nutered but maybe he has picked up on it anyway and there is one in the area.

Clutching at straws a bit I know. Before our female got spayed we would have all sorts of toms calling for her. After a few of the young ones still called and took quite some time to realise she wasn't available anymore.

BastardDog Sun 21-Apr-13 15:52:31

My mums cat started yowling when he went deaf. Can your cat hear you?

fussychica Sun 21-Apr-13 15:58:06

Def not deafgrin - he is pure white so that would have been a good possibility.

The female cat thing - he did spray which he had never done before so that could be the answer. He yowls whether he is in or out - it makes no difference except in it drives me mad and out it could be driving our lovely neighbours mad.

Looking at some old threads people mentioned senility so it looks like he either horny or senile - poor bugger.

Any other thoughts?

redtabby21 Sun 21-Apr-13 15:58:22