Cattery or Cat-sitting?

(13 Posts)
MyAngels Tue 22-Jan-13 09:20:35

Hi

We are off on holiday at Easter for 10 days and I'm in a worry about what to do for the best for my (beloved) new cat. We haven't had her long (adopted stray), and I'm in a lather of indecision between cattery and cat feeding/visiting service. We don't have any relatives nearby or neighbours we know well enough to visit her every day, but the idea of leaving her somewhere strange bothers me too (although I have a good recommendation).

She is a sociable cat, and we have a big garden for her to explore, but I worry that I we left her with just a feeding service, there would be no-one just to keep an eye on her.

I'm new to this cat business (obviously), so looking for advice.

Thanks

bringnbuy Tue 22-Jan-13 10:04:51

the last two times we have been away we have had a cat sitter come in. she is a cat lover and thus spends time with our cat, not just feeding/basics. she comes in twice a day and both times hangs out with her for a bit. when we come home she (for some nice reason) leaves flowers and a cake on the table for us!! when i come home i worry that our cat will miss her and love her more than us..

mrs2cats Tue 22-Jan-13 13:20:22

We've always had cat sitters and we've been very happy with them. We've used cat sitters in different locations now for 13 years. At first it was because we had 2 cats and it was cheaper than putting them both in the cattery but now, even with just 1 cat, we much prefer having a cat sitter.

I think the advantage for the cat is that it's in its own home and it has more room than in a cattery. Also, in my experience, the cat sitters have always ensured that he/she sees the cat and spends quite a bit of time with the cat fussing over her, playing with her, making sure she's OK etc.