Is one dog better than two?

(18 Posts)
Anchovies12 Wed 24-Aug-16 12:54:52

Our black lab, Buddy, died unexpectedly a couple of months ago. He was a rescue with bad separation anxiety and was generally quite anxious. About 3 years ago we got a rescue puppy (Flower) who really helped with his anxiety and bossed him around and generally made him much happier.

Obviously Flower is missing her pal now and is generally much quieter and her personality seems to have really changed. I am a teacher so despite having a dog loving cleaner and MIL who come between them every day in the week, Flower spends a fair bit of the daytimes in her crate on her own.

To be completely honest I am finding one dog much easier than two (possibly because my wonderful Buddy was high maintenance?) however I cant help but feel that Flower is missing out? Will she adjust? I loved seeing them together sad

We've always had two dogs then when our old boy died suddenly last year we decided to just have the one. 10 months later we now have an 11week old Lab puppy.... 😄 We found one dog was actually so easy to deal with that it was almost a novelty at first. But we also noticed the change in him - a lot quieter, almost withdrawn, sleeping a lot more than he used to as well. Puppy has been an absolute joy for the whole family and our lovely DDog has a new lease of life. It's all been good. Although, will your existing dog minders be ok with a second one to look after?

honeyroar Sat 27-Aug-16 19:52:37

I think two dogs is normally, but not always, better for the dogs. It just means they always have company and a playmate.

2kids2dogsnosense Tue 30-Aug-16 19:27:43

I like (dare I say it?) three dogs - I have no reason for this, I just do. As present we have two and currently dog sit our daughter's great dane (aka the common house horse) while she's working.