Will my dogs coat be ruined if I got her clipped?

(22 Posts)
SexLubeAndAFishSlice Mon 25-Jul-16 18:36:35

She's a Border Terrier, as far as I'm aware she has never been clipped, she's only ever been hand stripped. There's only one groomer around here (without travelling miles) that does hand stripping and his prices are extortionate. She's looking a bit scruffy around the edges and I'm thinking she'd look so much neater if she were clipped! We have a furminator but there's only so many places it can reach. Her armpits, face etc are pretty scruffy compared to the big sections of her body.

I'm pretty new to having a dog that needs coat maintenance so I'm not sure of the best way to keep her looking tidy(ish! She is a terrier after all grin ). I only ask if clipping could ruin her coat because I recently heard a groomer telling a customer that if she clipped their GSD's coat, it would grow back all clumpy and horrible (The customer wanted their dog clipped because he had a skin condition which they thought his thick coat wasn't helping). I know BT's "should" be hand stripped but can they be clipped?

toldmywrath Mon 25-Jul-16 18:40:08

I don't have a BT but I do have a dog that is regularly clipped. I absolutely never realised that you could ruin a dog's coat by clipping (never heard of hand stripping)

This probably won't help as my dog is not BT, I've pm'd their breed. My dog grows back beautifully when clipped.

Fabellini Mon 25-Jul-16 18:46:12

We have a cairn terrier, a breed that should be hand stripped - particularly if we wanted to show him.
I've always just had him clipped though, it grows back fairly evenly and he looks lovely to us - not overly concerned what anyone else thinks to be honest!

Fabellini Mon 25-Jul-16 18:50:48

This is him the last time he was at the groomers......handsome!

NeedACleverNN Mon 25-Jul-16 18:52:06

I think border terriers need stripping or it does ruin the coat