Better for dogs to live in pairs?

(11 Posts)
imabusybee Mon 06-Jul-15 09:19:35

Hi all. I'm a bit of a newbie but longtime lurker.
We have a 3 year old rescue poodle/spaniel/something else cross who came to us in November last yr. He had no training but we've worked hard & now he's a little superstar smile
I'm a dog walker & he goes out with me on 3-4 walks a day and has lots of doggy friends because of this. But there have been times at home when I think he misses doggy company - eg when he wants to play wrestle with me or DP & we don't have time to. He's good pals with our four cats & enjoys their company but I wonder if he'd be happier living in doggy company too? Or am I being silly/over thinking?

ender Mon 06-Jul-15 10:04:50

Dogs can enjoy playing with other dogs on walks but they might not want another dog living with them. The best reason to get a 2nd dog is because you really want another. It could end up more time consuming if you have 2 dogs demanding individual play sessions from you smile
We thought our lab would enjoy having a doggie playmate as he loved playing with other dogs on walks. But he wasn't overjoyed when we got 2nd dog and mostly ignored him for a year, we had both of them competing for attention from us.
They play together now but lab would still much rather play with me or DH.

imabusybee Mon 06-Jul-15 10:30:22

I do want a second dog but I'm wary of it having a negative impact on DDog & would only really go ahead if I think it'll be a positive thing for him

LimeJellyHead Mon 06-Jul-15 10:57:51

You are right to be cautious. I would lean towards two dogs, especially as that is what you want too and your dog sounds very sociable and at a playful age still. I always have 2 dogs. I do love to see them playing and keeping each other company. I wouldn't want to be an only child. But also it can depend and only testing it out can really answer it, I think.