Introducing a whistle at 7 months..... too late???

(24 Posts)
cansleepanywhere Tue 15-Oct-13 19:02:22

In the words of my trainer my dog's brains 'have fallen out of her a*se'.

She's hit the teens and I REALLY need to go back to basics and make things fun again. I'm worried that my voice doesn't carry far enough when she shoots off after something that interests her to snap her out of it. I've tried taking a squeaky toy but it doesn't seem load enough.

Is it too late to introduce a whistle??

If not then how do you use it?? Ideally I'd like a 'come back' and 'stop dead' as a starter. So one blip (?) for stop and three short one's for come back or something like that??? I'm a total novice when it comes to a whistle but I'm making myself hoarse.

FlopemOut Tue 15-Oct-13 19:11:15

I'm no expert but am training my working cocker puppy at the moment to some whistle commands. One long blast to return to me and a short pip for sit. I believe that it's up to you - as long as you are consistent is the main thing. I'm sure someone more knowledgeable will be along soon!

Mynewmoniker Tue 15-Oct-13 19:14:20

Whistle and one word command to begin with. Tasty reward for compliance if dog food orientated otherwise loads of fuss.

Then try just whistle.

Dog no where near too old! smile

Whoknowswhocares Tue 15-Oct-13 19:19:17

Deffo not too late.
Our trainer has introduced it to the whole class recently and they are all older than your pup. Can't comment personally though as mine was the one dog who already knew whistle recall. They were taught initially by two people with a whistle each (same pitch) take it in turns to whistle....3 short pips for recall...and then call pups name.....treat profusely on e they come, then switch to 'ignore status' when the other person whistles. After a few goes they start to turn and run on hearing the whistle and not waiting for their name. Then you know they understand.