What to do when Frontline lets you down <wail>

(15 Posts)
JesusInTheCabbageVan Thu 22-Aug-13 13:50:09

I'm new to the doghouse so sorry if fleas have been done to death on this forum.

Last week we found out our greyhound was home to a thriving flea community <shudder>. Cue panic, revulsion (I'm flea phobic), thorough going over with flea shampoo, Frontline, fog the house, wash all bedding, hoover etc.

Last night found another worryingly healthy looking flea on him. Cue me outside washing him AGAIN at 7pm while dinner burnt. Frontline again, kept him out of the garden, and fogged the house again this morning.

Had a rummage through his fur just now, and guess what. Yup. This time I drowned the fucker (flea not dog) but I hate hate hate touching them.

The dog is cleaner than he's ever been, and is looking thoroughly fed up.

What flea treatments actually worked for you?

TotallyBursar Thu 22-Aug-13 14:34:39

Stronghold or, my preference, Advocate.
But do let them know you've frontlined him twice in a week.

Also you can ask them about the house sprays they have as depending on what you are using it may be worth swapping.

If you are trying to get on top of an infestation - all animals in the house must be done, all bedding should be hot washed and carpets/upholstery, most importantly dark cracks and crevices should be treated.
But do remember that they are not flea preventatives - if you have a garden or walk in an area that has a lot of parasites you may well see a live flea that will die as long as treatments are kept up.

It's a bugger though you have my sympathies.

HoneyDragon Thu 22-Aug-13 14:38:05

I know this is not the thing to say on here, but I've never used Stronghold or Advocate on any of my dogs.

I make my own spray up and I've only ever found one single flea on one of my dogs.

Either it works or I am very, very lucky. Genuinely not sure which.

Floralnomad Thu 22-Aug-13 14:59:25

I use advocate monthly and so far we've never had a flea .