Where to start with my dog's behaviour?

(12 Posts)
KingRollo Fri 17-May-13 18:25:28

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

poachedeggs Thu 16-May-13 17:27:51

If you're going to give a bone please don't boil it first! I am a vet and cooking alters the architecture of bone, making it more likely to splinter. Raw, frozen then defrosted, is best. Ideally a scale and polish would be better still...

I echo the previous two posts.

Booboostoo Thu 16-May-13 16:56:47

That's good news about the urine and I would get the crate out again.

Which country are you in? I managed to find a UK trained behaviourist in France but I was a bit lucky. I would be very dubious of the living with wolves stuff. It's completely irrelevant to dog behaviour. Ideally you want someone who is trained in positive reinforcement techniques and is up to date with scientific research on dog behaviour.

Lonecatwithkitten Thu 16-May-13 15:53:58

I would suggest finding APDT registered trainer as opposed to someone who lives with wolves. The whole wolf behaviour dog behaviour thing is really unravelling and maybe a very big sham.

KingRollo Thu 16-May-13 12:24:23

KingRollo Thu 16-May-13 12:21:54

Booboostoo Thu 16-May-13 12:16:50

Crates are not cruel and are a source of comfort for some stressy dogs but the dog must be properly introduced to the crate. That is, leave the door open for the dog to choose to go in, make the crate very appealing (nice bed, feed in there all food, chews, etc.), praise the dog for voluntarily going in, never use the crate for punishment. Gradually you can begin to close the door.