How frequently do you de-worm?

(33 Posts)
AdoraBell Wed 08-May-13 15:44:56

I've had conflicting advice here in Forrinland so I thought I'd ask you sensible peoplesmile

4 weekly with advocate and 3 monthly with tape worm tablet as advised by our vet.

Callisto Wed 08-May-13 16:41:26

When I remember, approximately once every 2-3 of months.

TakingTheStairs Wed 08-May-13 16:46:20

Monthly with advocate and I think 6 monthly with tape worm tablet. I have a reminder set up in my calender to schedule the vet appointment for the latter.

AdoraBell Wed 08-May-13 16:59:49

Thank you

Lonecatwithkitten Wed 08-May-13 17:50:53

I do round and tapeworm tablet once every three months. As a vet I can tablet anything, but can I get spot on on my own cats -NO. So Seresto collar is the flea and tick treatment.

moosemama Wed 08-May-13 18:35:12

This thread got me thinking and I had to go and look up what our wormer treats for.

We use Drontal every 3 months for worms and Frontline spot-on for flea and tick prevention.

We've always done this, partly because the dogs like the drontal pills and are happy to just take them out of our hands and partly because I can buy both the Drontal and Frontline cheaper myself than going through the vet.

After reading this thread though, I'm wondering if we shouldn't review what we're doing and look into some of the newer products. I've never heard of Advocate - is it via vet/prescription only? Would we be better off switching to that plus a quarterly tapeworm pill or is our protocol ok? confused

moosemama Wed 08-May-13 18:55:37

OK, just googled and saw lots of stuff online about Frontline losing it's effectiveness, so now I'm worried.

We've never had a problem though, dogs have never had fleas and I don't think we have them in the house, as even when the dogs were in kennels for a fortnight while one of my dcs was in hospital none of us saw one or got bitten.

Even more confused now. hmm

EasyToEatTiger Wed 08-May-13 19:05:07