13 year old spiralling out of control

(8 Posts)
Rainbow00 Thu 11-Feb-16 22:38:47

I need some advice of what to do next. My DS is 13 years old and his behaviour at school is spiralling out of control and I'm really not sure what to do about it. We've (me, step dad and dad) have had various meetings with his teacher to try and sort it out and to help him but nothing seems to of worked. Just this week he has been put on report and had a personal support plan put in place which we thought was going to help him but today (Thursday) he swore at a teacher so has had a two day fixed term exclusion. I really don't know what to do now?

Tonight we have been to parents evening and apart from the one subject where he's having quite a few issues, the teachers were quite pleased with him considering everything else that's going on.

I am at a lost any suggestions/help would be much appreciated.

Scatter Fri 12-Feb-16 13:44:37

Hi Rainbow00,

I have no personal experience of what you are going through but I do have a 13 yo son. If I started to see a severe decline in his behaviour and application at school, I think first I would speak to him to see if he could tell me why (I mean, really listen, allowing lots of long silences to develop which he would hopefully eventually fill). I would ask him what sort of support might make a difference to him, and why he is struggling to behave in the way that school/home/society expects. I would remind him that the only future that is negatively affected by his poor behaviour is his own.

I would buy him these books, all of which my sons have read: How2BeHappy, the Art of Being a Brilliant Teenager, Get Out of My Life (But First Take Me & Alex Into Town), and The Teenage Guy's Survival Guide.

I would get him some counselling (talking therapy) with a professional, if he would be prepared to do it/if you could afford it or get referred on the NHS.