My 14yo dd is being harassed

(20 Posts)
Weegiemum Wed 02-Apr-14 17:28:00

My dd1 has just turned 14. Well behaved, polite (apart from the very occasional pmt fuelled shouting match!!), got fantastic reports at parents night, has a tight knit group of friends plus a wide circle of other friends, and recently, a boyfriend. He's been round for tea, nice boy.

One of her wider circle of friends has a thing for the boyfriend, which she told dd1 about via a 2am text at the weekend. Since then, this girl (who has been here for a sleepover, is pleasant and friendly) won't leave dd1 alone. The texting went on all weekend, and so many calls that she switched her phone off! Voluntarily!!!

There's all the usual she-said no she-said teenage crap (I used to be a secondary teacher with pastoral care responsibilities!), people taking "sides" etc which I usually let go ..... but dd1 is getting pretty distressed by it.

This afternoon dd1 went to her athletics club after school. She was out running for about 75 minutes and came back to 37 missed calls and a multitude of texts from the girl involved. It's upsetting her, she's tried talking calmly face to face, I've suggested that she shouldn't do this by text, there's too much scope for misunderstanding. The girl is spreading rumors that The Boyfriend really likes her, that none of the other girls (in their small school year - only 45 pupils) like dd1, lots of nonsense.

Dd1 has to deal with friendship issues herself, fall outs are common I know amongst girls her age. But the day-and-night texting and calling and facebooking is, I feel harassment. The girl has taken to using other peoples phones to get in touch.

Eventually, dd1 has told the girl to Fuck Off. That has worked for now, but the girl has threatened to go to the deputy head about this.

Dd1 has asked me to put it on here for advice!

realitygone Wed 02-Apr-14 17:31:41

What phone does your dd have? Some phones have a blocking option which blocks the number unwanted.