Work experience in Yr 10

(21 Posts)
lostinteaching47 Wed 30-Oct-13 09:44:36

Hello everyone,
DD is meant to be sorting this out.I have been nagging her for weeks to get some information for me about this(she hasn't)She is my eldest so I haven't experienced this before(I am ancient so didn't do this myself at school) She is now moaning that as she hasn't managed to approach anyone now the school will do it.I am frustrated as I am a teacher and have been unable to contact the school when I would be able to speak to anyone about this during my school day. Is there a booklet or website I can look at for ideas? She wants to do something sciencey, possibly in teaching or medicine or in a vets.I don't think shadowing a teacher would be on the cards? Or would it? I have a vets at the top of our road? I don't know, any advice.Most of her friends are doing retail, I think.I'm not sure what the purpose is of it.Is it to find out about working, any work or work in your chosen profession of interest or both? I think I heard that Connexions are organising this but I couldn't see anything on their website and there is nothing on the school website.

Thanks

YDdraigGoch Wed 30-Oct-13 09:50:37

The purpose of work experience is to give kids a flavour of what it's like to be in work - to have to get themselves there on time, be organised etc. The nature of the work is less important. It doesn't really have to be what they want to do in the future (though more interesting/useful if it is).

DD would probably be able to help in a primary school - my DD1 did this for a week. DD2 worked in a pre-school.

She could probably get work experience in a vets too - helping the nurse, looking after the animals etc. I know people who have done that. Or do you have any local kennels, catteries etc who would take her on?

She might be able to work in the science lab in a secondary school, helping the lab techs, rather than shaddow a teacher.

do any of those ideas help?