Thinking of getting a Syrian hamster as a pet for 3yo DS for xmas

(15 Posts)
BotBotticelli Mon 21-Nov-16 22:53:41

Is this a nice pet for a child? Obviously I would do all the cleaning and care - hopefully with ds helping me! But I would be responsible.

I've never had a hamster before, always had cats as a child but don't feel quite ready for a cat yet.

But ds loves animals and I think he would love to have a family pet.

Any advice please! Are they easy to care for for complete novices? Are they ok in quite noisy houses?? My two boys are very noisy!

Namechangenurseryconcerns Mon 21-Nov-16 22:59:15

We have a hamster and I've been pleasantly surprised at what a nice, easy to care for, interesting pet he is.
BUT I wouldn't get one for a 3 year old. My youngest is nearly 5 and still can't be trusted to hold the hamster gently enough.
Plus they don't wake up til bedtime and although you can get them out during the day it seems a bit cruel to wake them up just for your entertainment!

MyDarlingWhatIfYouFly Mon 21-Nov-16 23:01:35

3 is too young imo. They can be quite nervous when you get them and a lot of careful handling is needed to tame them. Also noisy environments are not great as they sleep throughout the day.

notagiraffe Mon 21-Nov-16 23:01:52

A cat might be a better animal for a three-year-old. Less maintenance than a hamster. Easily to cuddle but harder to accidentally hurt. Can't escape in the way hamsters can. Or wait another year or two and get fluffy guinea pigs. They are the best pets ever.

RustyBear Mon 21-Nov-16 23:04:07

I wouldn't recommend a hamster for a child that young - first of all, hamsters are mainly nocturnal, and it would probably only just be waking up when your DS was going to bed!

Secondly, hamsters are quick-moving, vulnerable if dropped and have a tendency to bite,especially when scared. I wouldn't have let my children handle one at three, and just watching a sleeping hamster is not much fun!

Twooter Mon 21-Nov-16 23:04:39