We can't tame our hamster.

(13 Posts)

We got a hamster from Pets at Home at the beginning of Feb. While DD was choosing one, I asked the salesman how old they were, how much they had been handled etc - they were 9 weeks old and had NEVER been handled. Not at all. hmm

Of course, by that time, DD had chosen one and named him. The salesman scooped him into the box without touching it.

10 weeks later and we still can't handle him. We've tried, we really have. I've had about 10 hamsters over the years (not including the totally unexpected litter of 5 from a "male hamster" we'd had for 2 weeks), so it's not like I'm a novice at small furry animals. He will just tolerate me putting my hand in his cage and touching his back - for about two seconds, then he turns and rears up and nips.

I am on the point of giving up. sad

OnceUponAThyme Fri 19-Apr-13 18:23:05

try offering treats from the palm of your hand, but dont try and touch or lift him.
you could get a large plastic box/ cardboard box and put some tubes and toys in it. while hamster is in box, let it sniff your hands, and run over them so he gets used to your smell and realises you mean no harm.
another way I've read is to sit in a dry bath, lined with a towel and let hamster run over you to get used to you. you can move slowly to picking it up after it gets more used to you.
it does take time and some hamsters never really enjoy being picked up but you'll get there smile

chaime Fri 19-Apr-13 18:26:17

Could it be a Russian hamster? They're the least tame-able kind apparently.

We got a hamster from Pets at Home and were told it was a male hamster. We were wondering after a few days why it suddenly turned reclusive and angry - we found out when we opened its hidey-home one morning and there were 6 babies in there hmm

Madratlady Fri 19-Apr-13 18:32:33

Don't give up!

OnceUponAThyme's advice is great.