If I asked you to describe your style, could you do it?

(159 Posts)
BIWI Sat 14-May-16 21:13:28

Full disclosure: I'm a market researcher, and currently doing some research for one of the Big 4 supermarkets on their clothing. One of our clients has asserted that it's difficult/impossible for people to describe their own style, and that only other people could do this about you.

I wondered about this. Personally I'm really not into fashion, so it's hard for me to describe my 'style' other than scruffy, but then I was wondering if this confirmed her statement!

I'm not looking for answers to my research (because I actually haven't told you what it's really about wink), but wanted to see what you fashionistas thought to this claim.

Iliveinalighthousewiththeghost Sat 14-May-16 21:17:53

Colourful
Elegant
Unique

BIWI Sat 14-May-16 21:30:32

I've realised the fatal flaw in all of this, in that I can't actually see you or what you look like or how you dress, to make sense of those words grin

But I like your words.
I certainly wouldn't use 'elegant' to describe myself.

I think I'd probably go for

scruffy
very casual
... but (relatively) youthful

I certainly don't feel like I look for clothes to reflect my age (mid-50s).

JoyceDivision Sat 14-May-16 21:32:05

casual

basic

androgy... errr.... you know what I mean blush soz... have hit the wine

luckiestgirl Sat 14-May-16 21:35:28

Scruffy, comfortable, young mum

(I THINK that's accurate. For contex, I'm: Scruffy hair/ glasses/ black leggings or blue mum jeans/ loose top often with one shoulder out/ sandals/ all neutral colours).

Doublejeopardy Sat 14-May-16 21:38:49

Elegant (at work at least)
Thought out
Clean lines and few patterns
Layers
Not scruffy

BIWI Sat 14-May-16 21:40:04

shock

Don't confess to mum jeans on S&B! wink

BIWI Sat 14-May-16 21:42:56