Thinking of lobbing off the mane.

(41 Posts)
PalakPaneer Tue 08-Oct-13 12:01:39

I have long, dark, straight, thick hair. It is fine, but there is loads of it. I am thinking of lobbing quite a lot of it off as I am getting older - yikes! . I am thinking of bringing it up to just above my shoulders so that I can bring it back in a few sleek up do's. I think that pulling a short bob back into a pony at the nape looks really nice, as does a simple fold (can't think what this is called, when you bring your hair back and fold it under. At the moment my hair is too long and too thick to do anything but put it in a pony tail.

I have a photo, but am too embarrassed to post it.

Anyone taken their hair up so they can style it better and can you manage it in a nice up-do better?

chartreuse Tue 08-Oct-13 12:53:15

I find chopping my hair off to just above my shoulders takes years off my face. For that reason alone I'd recommend it!

PalakPaneer Tue 08-Oct-13 13:11:22

I am a bit scared to lob it off TBH but I so need to move on from a pony tail. I'll be 44 in a few weeks. I need a bit more sophistication!

PalakPaneer Tue 08-Oct-13 13:12:02

Also good point about taking years off a face. I do think my face is looking a bit tired and more droopy than it was. I could do with an instant lift!

chartreuse Tue 08-Oct-13 13:16:17

You could go shorter in stages if you're nervous. I certainly find it more managable as a bob, and I also wear it down more - when it's longer I tend to wear it tied back as it swamps my face when it's down.

ellesabe Tue 08-Oct-13 14:07:18

Have you heard of the mn haircut?

Video here

I'm thinking of trying it tonight if you fancy joining me... grin

SorrelForbes Tue 08-Oct-13 14:11:42

Do it! My hair was almost down to my bra strap and I had it cut to just above shoulder length a few months ago and had some layers put in too. It's definitely less 'witchy' and easier to manage It looks a bit like this pic.

PalakPaneer Wed 09-Oct-13 01:53:20