Nails breaking all the time...

(15 Posts)
ScienceRocks Mon 25-Feb-13 18:10:44

Advice needed please! A month or so before Christmas, I started painting my fingernails. They have always been strong and quite a nice shape, and I really liked it. The only problem was that the polish chipped quite easily, despite using decent polish, base coat and top coat, and redoing the top coat each evening. So I'd end up taking it off and redoing it, just one nail or the whole lot if quite a few chipped (which happened a lot).

I must have done my nails about ten times, then got fed up of the constant maintenance and stopped, just for a while or so I thought. But now they are really weak and break as soon as they get near the edge of the nail bed (which hurts). I have used mavala scientifique for a month or so and it doesn't seem to be helping.

Any ideas? I would like to be able to do my nails again in the future, but at the moment, it seems like a distant dream sad

EllieorOllie Mon 25-Feb-13 22:28:42

Oh, I was going to say mavala scientifique sad Are you using nail oil as well?

It sounds as though all the varnishing and removing has perhaps removed or weakened the top layer of your nail.

Mine are very weak normally and separate really easily, so if I use stick on nails (for say a wedding) they remove the top layer, and I then go through 6 weeks of regrowth of paper thin nails.

I found (by accident!) that taking a vit B complex works like a charm. I

was taking the supplement (not specifically for nails), and 6 weeks later my nails were the hardest they have ever been in my life. (of course my goldfish memory then kicked in and I forgot to take them for about a week - but I'm going to bring them into work - I reckon remembering to take them the 5 days a week that I am in, is better than 2 days on the weekend).

ScienceRocks Tue 26-Feb-13 11:49:15

I've just started taking a multivitamin so hopefully that will help. Is nail oil different to, well, oil?