Go back into education or stay SAHM? Career or family?

(5 Posts)
Firstmum24 Mon 29-Feb-16 11:17:49

Will try and make this short and sweet. I am looking for advice, perhaps your own experiences to help think over my decision.

I am 24yo mum of a 18wo baby girl.
DH works 60hrs a week unsociable hours.

I have been considering for a couple of years going back to uni to do a PGDE in Secondary Education and decided that I really do want to do it.

Therein lies the problem. I have always wanted 2-3 children as does DH. At the start of term time DD will be 10mo.
Due to childcare costs and lack of funds for it I will have to do the course part time, which is an available option at the uni, as DH will be able to take two weekdays off to care for DD. This means the PGDE will take 2 years to complete, I will then have a probationary year (full time) and then I am on my todd to secure a full time, hopefully permanent job. I would like to have established myself in my job for at least a year before going off on maternity to have next DC.

I am torn between starting in Aug 16' or TTC later this year and have next bambino and possibly start PGDE in Aug 17 or 18. If I were to start at a later date then I would go back to work part time in my current dull and mindless job to save up some more funds for the coming years I would be studying.

It is important to state that I would be qualifying as a business studies teacher therefor my current business qualification may become 'dated' in a few years given the nature of progression in todays modern businesses.

I am so over the saying that a woman can't 'have it all' but I'm beginning to realise her choices are hard for the ski or herself and her family.

Any of your feedback/experiences would be greatly appreciated.

x

Firstmum24 Mon 29-Feb-16 11:18:28

sake* not ski blush

Needmorewine Mon 07-Mar-16 10:23:22