Student nurse and pregnant

(3 Posts)
Nursenicola Sat 26-Sep-15 08:06:30

Hi.. so I'm a student nurse just this week beginning my 2nd year at leeds uni. I did a pregnancy test last night and turns out I'm about 3 weeks gone. My partner and I have been together 9 year and share a rented house in sheffield, I commute to uni so things are tight living off his low income wage and my bursery. However we are really excited and feel ready to become parents as we are both now 26. However we are not financially stable and this scares us both. My partner wants to change career he is currently a HLTA but wants a career he can progress in and potential earn more money. He knows this wouldn't be possible for a while now but worry as he believes he should own his owe home or be on the way to by this age. He works extremely hard and is far too harsh on himself, I believe he compare himself to our friends who all appear to be financially better off.
Has anyone been or is currently in a similar position? Any advice around how being pregnant will effect my course and financial support would be a massive help.
Thanks in advance. Nicola

Caipoja Mon 19-Oct-15 16:21:10