So bloody overwhelmed with study/home/children. Does anyone recognise this feeling?

(22 Posts)
ClarkGable Fri 14-Feb-14 10:18:32

I am in my second year of a health care professional degree course. It is tough, much harder than first year and I am feeling completely overwhelmed. I feel like I am doing everything badly - studying, being a mother, keeping on top of things. If I try to concentrate on one area when I feel it's getting out of control, every other area falls to pieces. Last week I felt I needed to study more in the evening, just basic reading over stuff, but as a result, I didn't listen to ds (year 1) reading or do his spellings. My dd just seems to have given up asking me to do things with her. The house is constantly a shit tip and I'm always forgetting to buy milk, bread etc so we run out all the time.

I do have a dh but he works full time. I try to tell him that I am struggling but I don't feel he really understands. When I'm on placement, which means full time hours, he helps out a little round the house, but not much. Our house is horrible and although we're having some work done over the next few months that in itself is also stressing me out. I just sound ungrateful now. I am a terrible procrastinator but also put pressure on myself to get good marks. I'm starting to feel like I also won't be able to do the profession that I'm going to qualify in particularly well either, and I know my dh expects me to get a full time job when I qualify. I'm worried about the effect on my dc and they've already suffered by me going to university (was sahm before) and hate it when I'm not around on half term holidays. I'm thinking ahead to them having to go summer camps etc - I know they will hate it and feel awful. I feel like I'm in such a mess and don't know where to start to sort it all out.

tanyatwo Fri 14-Feb-14 20:35:22