I have lost my passion for my studies

(5 Posts)
agyieus Fri 13-Dec-13 00:06:10

I am a regular lurker and an occasional poster, but have name changed for this thread as it just feels really personal. I've posted this in Chat as well, as there's more traffic.

I'm 30, a mature student doing a BSc in Architecture at one of the best universities in the UK. Currently I am in my final year.

I have loved architecture and have dreamt of becoming an architect my whole life and once I got the opportunity to actually fulfil my dream I jumped at the opportunity. My first two years were fantastic- one of top 5 students in the entire year, no subject below 75%, lots of passion, dedication, time investment and so on. Then this year came and I am literally indifferent to it all. I don't know what happened, it was just SOMETHING that happened almost overnight. All of that drive, passion and dedication just disappeared. And so did my skills. In 7 weeks I have gone from being one of the best to being the worst, and I don't know why! I still love the subject but I just can no longer bring myself to do anything. All my drawings are terrible- it's as if someone who's never been anywhere near a computer drew them, never mind actually has used a CAD based programme. My tutors have noticed it too, obviously, but haven't really been very helpful- can't blame them, how can they help someone who won't help themselves.

And that's the thing. I don't know how to help myself. I don't know what to do! How do I get my drive, imagination and everything else back? I want to finish this degree. I want to be back at the top. At least that's what I am telling myself in my head. I don't actually feel that desire.

It's not depression (GP said so), as all the other areas of my life have been unaffected. It's just my studies that are suffering.

So, if someone has been through something similar or maybe someone has some advice on how to deal with this, please do share it. I am desperate at this point.