Keeps going with two babies?

(2 Posts)
Elllimam Wed 11-Dec-13 20:06:34

I'm looking for some advice, I'm currently going into my final module of my MSc part time (over 3 years). I have the option of keeping going to a professional doctorate also part time, over 3 years and then thesis. However I currently have a 12 month old and am currently 2 months pregnant. I would ideally like to do my doctorate very part time possibly over 4-5 years (then thesis) and only one module next year. Does anyone have any experience of studying with two young children? How hard is it? Am
I crazy for even considering it? Xxxx

2plus1 Thu 26-Dec-13 20:46:27

I studied for my phd part time over 6years. After three years my eldest was born and 12 months later my twins were born. Not exactly planned this way! I found people supportive after my eldest was born but quite judgemental once the twins were born. Of course there was an expectation that I should quit with three babies under twelve months old, but I was not going to lose all the work I had already done. It is possible to study for a phi with young children but you will have to be determined and organised. I wanted to finish so that I could achieve my ambitions whilst showing my children what can be achieved with dedication. I stayed at home with the three babies and had a work break. I had one afternoon of childcare and evenings to study in. Lab work was done during a week where hubby had the children and I lived in the lab, most of the lab work was complete pre children. I had my desk set up ready for working at in the evening until late, then noted things down during the day that I needed to check/work on etc. I had remote access to the library facilities for journal articles. I also had Skype tutorials with my supervisors in the evenings to maximise my child free time. Above all I had a very supportive supervisory team, husband and proof-reading parents! Studying with children means that productivity may be great when things go