Applying for a PHD - very confused

(11 Posts)
OvaryAction Sat 12-Oct-13 13:00:31

I am finding it really confusing applying for post grads. I have a vague idea of two topics I would like to do and I know what university I want to go to. I'm just worried about writing the wrong thing or cocking up in some way. Also concerned that I haven't got time to trawl through loads of previous research to come up with a watertight proposal as I'm finishing up my degree and working and a single parent.

Would anyone mind talking me through the process of applying for and getting accepted for a PHD? I feel like I have no clue what I'm doing and my university is very small and don't really seem to have any support for applying to post grads.

TIA flowers

Rosencrantz Sat 12-Oct-13 16:44:44

What's your educational background?

What degree do you have already? Do you have a masters? Have you been research trained? Have you looked into funding?

OvaryAction Sat 12-Oct-13 19:07:54

I'm in my third year of a social science degree, I'm on track to get a 1st. The course encompasses research training so I was thinking I'd be ok skipping a masters and going straight to PHD.

There are various scholarships etc and there's a chance I might get a job at the place I currently volunteer so hopefully I'd manage financially.

Rosencrantz Sun 13-Oct-13 14:49:20

As a social scientist myself, skipping the masters isn't the done thing. Not unless you get a specific invitation from an academic, rather than applying. Any decent university will not let you do a social sciences phd without the masters.

I recommend speaking to the postgraduate coordinator at your university - who will have a much better idea if this is even possible than strangers on the internet who are not members of your university.

Rosencrantz Sun 13-Oct-13 14:51:46

Ahh... Is this sociology or social work? Seem to remember those disciplines follow different rules.

OvaryAction Sun 13-Oct-13 16:59:16