thinking of retraining. BUT I'm a lone parent AND I have a degree already....

(9 Posts)
ridiculoussingle Sat 28-Sep-13 12:13:52

Any idea of if i'd get any help with fees etc? I can't face my career much longer, certainly not until I'm 68! Before I even start looking at possibilities, I need to know whether I'd even be able to do it. I know as I have a degree already I'm not entitled to a student loan, but are there other supporting agencies to contact?

Anyone doing this already or know where I can find out?

HolidayArmadillo Sat 28-Sep-13 12:23:57

What are you considering doing?

ridiculoussingle Sat 28-Sep-13 12:26:29

well I'm considering a complete career change. Just feelnig around for ideas at the moment, but I 'd enjoy something medical (not a doctor!) or perhaps legal.
I don't have definite plans yet, I'd like to know if its feasible or not before I start thinking of what I'd like to do. I have a feeling I won't be able to study to retrain, and may have to move sideways in my current career, which I don't want to do.

YeahBuddy Sat 28-Sep-13 12:29:40

Bumping this for you OP in the hope that you get some more replies as this is exactly what I want to do!

ridiculoussingle Sat 28-Sep-13 12:35:25

are you also a lp with a degree?

SacreBlue Sat 28-Sep-13 12:42:21

GingerbreadNI have a scheme that pays part of your fees for some courses - maybe where you are there is a similar scheme run by an NGO?

Nuffield trust paid part of my childcare but I think that was just for my first degree.

If it is any help, encouragement wise, I have changed direction from my degree, and again from my later longterm job (tho have used many elements in my new career)

Are there any free careers advice centres in your area? Sometimes even a friend working in the areas you are interested in can take a look at your CV and give a bit more advice

hannibalismisunderstood Fri 04-Oct-13 14:19:20