Wanting to do a phd in a few years time...

(5 Posts)
IWipeArses Fri 16-Aug-13 16:11:32

but I haven't done anything career wise since I completed my Masters 6 years ago, pretty much got pregnant straight after.

How much and what academic/career related stuff do you think the Unis would want to see in my career before putting in an application?

ZombiesAteMyBigToe Fri 16-Aug-13 16:41:52

I start a part time, partly self funded, phd in history in about six weeks ( wibble).

In my case I just had to convince a supervisor that I was sufficiently interested and capable and hadn't stagnated whilst at home (I left university in 2004!).

What you would need to show depends on your subject area and whether you are after funding etc.

IWipeArses Fri 16-Aug-13 16:58:11

Ooh, well done and good luck with it.

I'm looking at what conferences are out there, thinking about a blog grin
I'm definitely looking at an arts subject, but with a neurology/psychological/religious studies angle, suppose it means there'll be more departments to approach??

Evidencing what I've done while at home would help wouldn't it, the various subjects that I've read up on and how the experience of motherhood/sahm has impacted on me and my critical thinking etc.

ZombiesAteMyBigToe Fri 16-Aug-13 17:41:01

I did Ancient History for my degree and they were surprisingly amenable to me switching to modern medical history but I had to show my thought process as to how I got from one to the other.

In my case I mentioned I had worked in a care home, was interested in urban exploration websites and in particular old asylums, which had guided my reading for a few years etc. I had also done a social care course with the OU and another in Psychology which helped too with evidence of commitment, independent study and interest.