Nicotine and pregnancy

(6 Posts)
SickRose Mon 18-Apr-16 21:55:47

Hi all! After chatting to someone today at work about smoking and pregnancy we got talking about vaping and where the risks lie there. We had a google but there seemed to be a lot of conflicting information! And well, how much of the Internet can you trust really? Was wondering if anyone here has had this conversation with a doctor etc?

magimedi Mon 18-Apr-16 22:36:40

I am not a doctor, have not had the conversation & have not been pregnant for some 35 years.

I am an avid vaper - it has been the only thing that has made me give up fags.

BUT - I would be very wary of having any form of nicotine if Iwere pregnant.

Dontneedausername Tue 19-Apr-16 09:13:21

Well given that doctors advise you to give up smoking but allow you to use nrt then in my opinion it's not the best, but better than smoking.
If I was pregnant, I'd try not to use any, but if I did it would be the lowest possible nicotine level.

Sirona Tue 19-Apr-16 09:22:38

I wouldn't mainly because it hasn't been 'tested' for those situations (and who would test on pregnant women eh?). If I had to choose I would stick to nrt products like lozenges, lowest possible with trying to get off them asap as per the guidelines. As it was I just quit cold turkey when I got pregnant.

Salene Tue 19-Apr-16 09:32:12

Nicotine restricts the blood flow to the baby. It's not advisable.

PlentyOfPubeGardens Fri 22-Apr-16 21:16:52

Around 11% of pregnant women are smokers at the time of delivery in the UK. Any risks of nicotine on its own need to be evaluated in relation to that stat.