Negative effects of nicotine on the body

(11 Posts)
loveyoutothemoon Sat 02-Apr-16 17:49:54

I've read that nicotine on it's own can be harmful to the body, including the cardiovascular system but I'm finding the internet contradictory.

Anyone have any views on this? What do you believe nicotine alone can do to the body negatively?

kinkytoes Sat 02-Apr-16 17:51:24

It's addictive for a start which isn't a nice quality.

thatsn0tmyname Sat 02-Apr-16 17:52:51

Nicotine is a stimulant. It raises your heart rate and blood pressure and makes your blood 'sticky'. It increases your risk of strokes and heart attacks.

loveyoutothemoon Sat 02-Apr-16 17:53:00

Apart from that?!

loveyoutothemoon Sat 02-Apr-16 17:56:22

thatsn0tmyname I've read that.

I've been vaping for nearly 3 years stupidly believing that I'm OK because it's just nicotine. So I've made a massive effort to cut down as I'm worried about this.

Thanks.

loveyoutothemoon Sat 02-Apr-16 17:57:20

One good thing is I have my blood pressure done regularly and it's low!

PlentyOfPubeGardens Sun 03-Apr-16 09:42:18

It's about as harmful as caffeine, from everything I've read - i.e. not very smile

It can increase heart rate and BP but these are short term effects - it doesn't lead to chronic hypertension.

Evidence suggests that, when consumed in low concentrations, nicotine is not deleterious to health; it does not appear to be a direct carcinogen and, whilst its use can increase heart rate, is not associated with an increase in acute cardiovascular events (i.e. strokes and heart attacks) (from RSPH)

The evidence statements on the NICE website are also reassuring.