Threads in this topic are removed from the site 90 days after the thread was started. Our SN area is not a substitute for expert advice. Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

Is it just me that has a severely autistic child that is so passive?

(19 Posts)
jackiee Sat 15-Mar-14 15:57:24

Hi everyone this is my first time on here and I need to ask this question does anyone have a asd child that is so paasive? My 3 year old got diagnosed at 28 months I can take him (mostly) anywhere he can adapt to change so easily its like nothing fazes him.i keep getting comments how quiet he is, is this a good or bad thing!
Any comments would be appreciated thanks

ouryve Sat 15-Mar-14 19:41:06

DS2 was incredibly passive as a baby and when he was that sort of age. It was hard to engage him in anything. He was definitely my "easy" boy, at that time, despite needing so much help with feeding etc. He wasn't quiet, mind - he liked to hear himself screech, and still does.

He still has very limited expressive language, at almost 8, but he's far from passive, now. Even by the time he was coming to the end of nursery, other kids had learnt that they could not just treat him like a doll or take things off him (probably the only time I've been pleased about a child turning round and thumping someone, as I was becoming worried about how vulnerable he'd be amongst boisterous kids). He spends most of his day bossing everyone around, now grin

zzzzz Sat 15-Mar-14 21:52:17

A baby could take a toy from my ds. He is just a very gentle soul. He is t particularly averse to change and likes new experiences. He can however stick his heels in and we have had months of difficult behaviour ....... But only in the last 3 years. He is 9.

jackiee Sun 16-Mar-14 17:32:00

That's good to hear I am also worried about the future how other kids will treat him as he does not even acknowledge other kids just now .