Threads in this topic are removed from the site 90 days after the thread was started. Our SN area is not a substitute for expert advice. Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

Open University - Understanding the Autism Spectrum

(28 Posts)

I've just started this course and am really looking forward to getting a more solid knowledge of the subject - my DS has a diagnosis of AS and I have a lot of random knowledge from forums, books etc, hoping this will pull it all together for me.

Would be interested to hear from anyone else who has taken it or is doing it currently.

moldingsunbeams Mon 04-Nov-13 19:18:19

Oh I haven't seen this, would be interested, is the course expensive?

PolterGoose Mon 04-Nov-13 19:30:33

I've bought the course book, looks excellent. I'm already doing OU but might do this course one day...

I think it would be about £600 as a standalone (just checked the website but it's not enrolling for it at the moment). I'm already enrolled under the old fee structure for a degree, so doing it as part of that which is at a reduced rate. The fee structure is complicated WRT student loans etc.

I'm doing it as part of an Open degree Polter - I only enrolled in the first place to do one module last year but have got hooked. I will probably only do the first year though, I don't actually need a degree and it is a lot of work to complete the whole thing.

So far I'm enjoying finding out all the history of the research into autism, and where all the current knowledge has come from, my prior knowledge has all been very much rooted in the present day.

I'm doing it but totally forgot hmm.

But then again I've had no communication as to what I am supposed to be doing. In fact no communication at all confused

It's bloody expensive for what it is btw, and I suspect some ASD bandwagon-jumping reflected in the price.

But perhaps I'm not doing it after all since I have no information.....