Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

WWYD - Feeling discriminated because "no recent work experience on my CV"

(7 Posts)
eskimomama Mon 06-Jun-16 20:52:17

Hi all,

Can you tell me if I'm overreacting?

I've stopped working 5 years ago after DD's ASD diagnosis (I've a master's degree in finance and 5 years experience in an investment bank prior to that). She's nonverbal and has a hectic schedule like you guys can understand. No way I could fit any sort of part time work into that (let alone full time!) as every day is different and unpredictable and I must drop/collect her at different times.
Anyway, I decided to become a freelance translator to get something back on my CV as well as a bit of money, and for that I studied 2 years for a distance post-grad translation degree, that was hard enough to pass in the middle of this autism madness.

I'm applying to be a member of this official translator database, but they're saying that despite all my relevant qualifications and years of experience in finance I don't have recent work experience and they cannot accept me. Rules are rules. I think this is unfair and I feel like complaining, explaining that as a carer for my SN child I have been everything except a slacker for the last 5 years as they might expect a "regular SAHM" to be (?).
I've actually been translating unofficially a lot of DD's assessments (we're a bilingual family, in between UK and France), and done plenty of informal interpreting around DD's needs between relatives and therapists/practitioners.

Do you think I'm overreacting and should just accept the rules? Or is it worth it complaining that carers should be considered better than unemployed?

PolterGoose Mon 06-Jun-16 21:02:16

I don't think it's discrimination, just another effect of parenting disabled kids in a world where support is shit.