Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

ABA DIY in HERTS?

(12 Posts)
amunt Tue 17-Mar-15 21:27:17

My 3 and a half year old son was recently diagnosed with autism and I think he would benefit from ABA therapy, but we can't afford it. My head is swimming because I have been round and round in circles to try and get the following info:
Is it possible to have a consultant/expert observe him, write an ABA programme and me deliver it at home. And then consultant comes back, say 6 weeks later, assesses progress and gives next programme. Although I wouldn't be as good as a trained tutor I am a teacher and think I could learn fast. And it's that or nothing.
Is this actually possible? And if so can anyone recommend said expert in Herts (St Albans) area?

I know that this has been touched on often, but I can't find concrete answers and I'm going mad not knowing where to start.

Many thanks for any advice.

AgnesDiPesto Tue 17-Mar-15 22:52:38

We did similar with Autism Partnership in Leeds. We had to fund an initial 3 day workshop and intake assessment tests (which was expensive c.£2000) but then got their supervisor to train us to be tutors. We hadn't intended to do it that way but it was obvious the LA were going to force us to appeal at least twice & we realised we would run out of funds for reports etc.
The supervisor fee is about £55 per hour and she came 2 hours a week (so about £4000 a month) which we funded via family contributions, DLA etc. We also had to pay for the USA consultant to see DS every quarter.
DS was a similar age when we did it. To be honest the easiest part of ABA is the beginning as there are usually only 5/6 programmes to start with and pretty easy to pick up.
I wouldn't want to do it solo long term though, we did it pending tribunal (about a year) and I was very happy to hand it over at the end when we won.