This topic is for discussing slings and backpacks. If you want to buy or sell slings and backpacks, please use our For Sale/Wanted boards.

Best baby carrier ?

(5 Posts)
Summ3r Tue 31-May-16 03:38:49

Hi my 11 day old suffers badly from wind pains and seams more comforted and settled on my chest. With her being my 3rs I also need to get things done so in thinking of getting a sling but I haven't a clue what one to get ! All opinions gratefully recieved as I've never used one before. Thanks

lalath Tue 31-May-16 05:54:20

I think when they're that tiny slings or stretchy wraps are great. I've been using an Oscha ring sling, which DD loved.

WIth DS I moved onto a Manduca, which I still think is the best carrier out there, and incredibly comfortable. DD hates it, though. She's only 3 months, and quite small for her age, so that's probably why - the Manduca works best from about 5 months, I found.

I'm now using an Ergo Ventus for DD - we live in a super hot and humid country, so I wanted the most breathable thing I could find.

I found the ring sling tricky to get the hang of at first, but with a bit of practice it was easy - certainly easier than the wrap I used with DS in the early days.

It's a very personal thing - what works best for you and for your baby. If you can, get to a sling library so you can try a few out before buying one.

Congratulations on your new baby smile

JimbosJetSet Tue 31-May-16 06:03:39

Have a look at the Ergo. It was the best baby related purchase I ever made. You can get a newborn insert for when they're tiny, and I could carry my very heavy 2 year old without difficulty when needed. There are a lot of fakes around though so be wary of purchasing second hand.

goodbyeyellowbrickroad Tue 31-May-16 06:21:02