Note: This topic is for discussing slings and backpacks. If you want to buy or sell slings and backpacks, please use our For Sale/Wanted boards. Please feel free to report buying and selling in this topic. Thanks, MNHQ.

should I go for caboo or manduca sling?

(7 Posts)
cookie90 Fri 12-Apr-13 19:50:23

Hi I'm new to slings, but I'm due with DC2 in a week or so and have a 2.5 year old so I was thinking a sling might be a good idea. I was initially wondering about the ergo or manduca, but was in john lewis today and tried the ergo....I found it quite hard to fasten the clip at the back. This may be due to having a huge bump at the minute though....!
The lady in the shop got me to try on the caboo carrier too and I thought this would be great for round the house and going for walks when DC2 is quite small but I wondered how long it would last before I'd get backache.
I quite liked the look of the manduca on line as it seemed less bulky than the ergo for a newborn, but I wonder now if the caboo would be the best option for me. Sorry I know i'm rambling a bit but any advice would be appreciated. There don't seem to be any local sling meets on just now unfortunately.
Thanks.

DoingTheSwanThing Fri 12-Apr-13 20:05:32

Sure someone with practical experience of both will come along soon... But in the meantime, the close will only last up to 6m as a rough maximum as the material is stretchy (great with tiny babies but not for so long). Manduca or similar will be a longer-term option and allow you to do back carries, absolute godsend IME. With an ergo (maybe manduca but I'm not certain) downside is you have to wear like reversed rucksack straps when on your front so not as supportive. However, I'm not keen on any of the buckle carriers I've tried other than connecta which is much less structured.