Please help - nine week old awful nighttime feeding/sleeping patterns

(11 Posts)
WinnieK Mon 21-Apr-14 12:36:52

This is my first time posting so hope I'm doing things right. My problem is this: I have a 9Wk old boy and our night times are going from bad to worse. I'm bf with one bottle of formula at night to give me a break. At the moment, night time routines are: bath at 7pm, I feed him myself, he nods off usually between 8 and 8.30 pm and sleeps til between eleven and twelve, at which point dh gives him 5oz of formula (to give me a break and in the hope of getting him to sleep a bit longer). This was getting him to 3am at which point he'd wake again and bf, but is almost impossible to re-settle so I take him into bed where he half-feeds, half sleeps right thru til 7am. I'm knackered from this pattern and its getting worse as the past few nights he has woken at 2am rather than 3 and is half awake from then on. Everyone else I meet says their babies are going much longer through the night at this stage and honestly I don't know what we're doing wrong; I feel like we're doing everything a*seways (we're first time parents and pretty clueless). Advice gratefully appreciated ...

QueenOfThorns Mon 21-Apr-14 12:41:48

Is he actually half sleeping, half feeding? My DD falls asleep during a feed, but her little mouth keeps going. Like when you see a sleeping baby sucking on a dummy, iyswim?

When she does that, I gently detach her using a finger to release the latch, hold her for a few minutes to make sure she stays asleep, then put her back into her crib. She sometimes stirs when I put her down, but it usually works ok. Perhaps try something like this?

beccajoh Mon 21-Apr-14 12:52:04

You aren't doing anything wrong. If anything this sort of thing is relatively normal unfortunately. My son is 13 weeks and is pretty unsettled the second half of the night so I'm constantly replugging his dummy. The other thought I had - are you feeding to sleep?