Moses basket v carrycot vs cot vs cardboard box?

(13 Posts)
puggle01 Thu 19-Sep-13 21:22:44

Hi all. MN very reassuring that all you need with a new baby is a place for them to sleep, car seat to get them home and a fair few babygros. Total novice at this and ain't got a clue though have a trimester to go yet. Looking for practical advice for what to put the baby into to sleep...
I HATE the look of Moses baskets- just can't bear the frilly tweeness -sorry to all who love them. I hear babies grow out of them in a few weeks anyway though I may have selective deafness when anyone says they did use them for a while

Vaguely looking at travel system pram/puchchairs so am wondering about getting an overnight sleep suitable one with proper mattress

Will have to get a "real" cot for the baby's room though don't know if its practical to imagine they'll be in anything other than our room for first few weeks

I'm a very heavy sleeper -have slept through fire alarms in the past(though after several shandies and that won;t be happening for a while) so too scared to co-sleep in case I'm like a mummy pig that squashes its piglets(piglet)

I LOVED the Scandi baby box given out to new parents in Finland where the box made a baby bed.(was on BBC news a while back) Sadly I'm not from Finland and they won't sell them as its a benefit thing

Would a travel cot work in the short-term in our room?

What did you sensible real-life people do? I'm worried I may be over thinking this but don't want to be someone with a branch of mothercare in the their baby's room cos they bought EVERYTHING before their baby came

RandomMess Thu 19-Sep-13 21:26:52

A travel cot with a bassinett bit for young babies is a good idea - you don't want to bending all the way down to pick them up from the bottom of the main travel cot all the time.

How about a 2nd crib? A friend had a folding sling crib thing and that was fab - will see if I can find one on line to link to.

RandomMess Thu 19-Sep-13 21:28:47