Getting the bugger to go to sleep and stay asleep

(12 Posts)
silverangel Wed 04-Sep-13 12:51:37

He must be overtired?

Can you try and get a strict daytime nap going - walk him round and round in the pram if needs be for a while. What do you do when he does wake. I am by no means an expert but from my experience with DTs consistency is key.

I feel for you, I would have lost it already with that many wakings.

NeedlesCuties Wed 04-Sep-13 06:24:23

How is his mood during the day? Is he tired, or grumpy?

If I were you I'd speak to your GP, or HV for advice, maybe there's a reason he's waking so much.

mewkins Tue 03-Sep-13 21:45:24

No one can function with 30 n I ght wakings -you or him. Yes, controlled crying (go in, don't pick up, reassure and leave) I think should work within a few days. Good luck

Sheshelob Tue 03-Sep-13 21:40:10

A couple of years ago, i would never have imagined i would write what i am about to write. I was firmly against leaving my son to cry, but once he was older and could understand me, and after months of illness-related sleep regression, I gave it a try. I think he was about 18 months old, leaving him to call for me or moan. If he started to really cry, I'd go in and comfort him, resettle him and leave again. It worked. At 22 months, he now says "Bye bye mummy" and rolls over before I leave the room.

It isn't an easy step to take psychologically if you have been dead set against letting him cry/call out. But I guess you need to weigh up whether a few days of heartache for you is fair exchange for better sleep for everyone, your baby boy included. It has certainly made our lives a lot easier.

Good luck, whatever you choose to do.

My eldest (now 4) has to have a sterile sleep environment - no other people, no light (very dim night light okay) no noise, one comforter only... basically any stimulation at all and she can't sleep/takes 2/3hrs to settle and sleep.