deactivating account & username

(5 Posts)

MNHQ have commented on this thread.

ActingBusy Tue 23-Feb-16 08:06:59

When you deactivate or deregister your account, does your username and any name-changes you've had then become available for others to use?

Thanks.

SoupDragon Tue 23-Feb-16 08:08:53

No, they remain unavailable.

Sparklingbrook Tue 23-Feb-16 08:12:18

And I am not sure you can have them back if you decide to re register.

ActingBusy Tue 23-Feb-16 08:14:52

Great, thank you.

BeccaMumsnet (MNHQ) Tue 23-Feb-16 09:36:37

Hi ActingBusy - as Soup has said, when you deregister your username and all name changes are still unavailable for new users. This is because all your posts still appear under those usernames, and so it wouldn't be a good idea to have two sets of posts under the same name.

Hope that makes sense! Do shout if you have anymore questions.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now