Best sites for parents, kids and education - what do you think?

(37 Posts)
JaneGMumsnet (MNHQ) Mon 14-Jan-13 10:08:03

Hi all,

We've been asked to recommend the best websites for parents, kids and education that everyone should know about.

They could be blogs, useful sites, homework sites, sites for fun, sites for children and sites for adults.

Which are your recommendations? Apart from Mumsnet, naturally smile

We'd really value your help.

Thanks very much,

MNHQ

Portofino Wed 16-Jan-13 21:14:23

Jump Magazine is fab for pre-teens/tweenagers. It has inspired my dd (8) to start her own blog.

MmeLindor Wed 16-Jan-13 14:07:13

KidsBlogClub is great - for kids who would like to blog, or those who like to read blogs.

HelenMumsnet (MNHQ) Wed 16-Jan-13 10:22:20

Thanks for all of these suggestions. Great stuff!

leddeeburdee Wed 16-Jan-13 09:41:25

From a recommendation on here I subscribed to www.educationcity.com. I've been subscribing for about 5 months now and DS (5) and DD (4) still really enjoy playing on it. They enjoy the CBeebies site as well.

Belo Tue 15-Jan-13 22:34:08

http://www.woodlands-junior.kent.sch.uk/page/default.asp?title=Woodlands Junior School&pid=1

They have maths games (really helped my DDs with their number bonds) and a good selection of teaching resources which we've used for project work.

treacletart Tue 15-Jan-13 22:03:50

poissonrouge.com, cbeebies, cbbc, readingeggs, show.me.uk, culture24, minecraft(!)

bealos Tue 15-Jan-13 21:56:41

CBBC Games is ds(7)'s go to site.

alreadytaken Tue 15-Jan-13 20:01:25

Revision site for OCR or AQA chemistry www.a-levelchemistry.co.uk/OCR%20Chemistry%20A/OCR%20Chemistry%20A%20home.html

for younger ones (and perhaps adults) drawing site www.picassohead.com/

as for mumsnet - give it a makeover here www.bored.com/destroysites/go.php

wanabeYummyMummy Tue 15-Jan-13 19:31:02

kidslocal.co.uk -great site

thekitchenfairy Tue 15-Jan-13 19:06:11