If you have previously recommended this thread, you should see a tick / check mark on the recommend button. Click the tick to undo the recommendation (the tick may appear to change to a cross as you do this.) If you added a comment with your recommendation, you will need to delete that from your facebook wall separately.
I don't like this one, it keeps chucking me out of threads when I'm in the middle of reading them, and when I click on a link, when I come back to the app to read the rest of the thread I've also been chucked out.
The smilies are rubbish too. Is there any way I can reverse the update and just have the old app back?
(wish that was the blue sad face)
I know I'm being ungrateful but it's starting to get annoying, I didn't mind how it was before.