Where do you find tutors?

(9 Posts)
ValancyJane Thu 14-Apr-16 13:47:15

I'm a teacher who's looking to start picking up some tutoring after my maternity leave ends; I teach Science and am a good teacher so am reasonably hopeful! I'd just be really interested to know if you've used a tutor in the past, where have you found them? I'm trying to work out if I should go through an agency or not really!

Many thanks in advance smile

GetMeOut Thu 14-Apr-16 15:14:50

I have gone through an agency before, but I still look at handwritten ads in local shops as well. Local on line forums can be useful as well. Word of mouth still works too.
I think from your point of view going through an agency would mean that you don't have to deal with bills or advertising, though I imagine the agency takes a %......

catslife Thu 14-Apr-16 15:37:57

You don't have to just do agency work or find pupils yourself you can do both.
Yes agencies can take a percentage (and some are better than others). As a tutor (and as a parent) the advantages of using a (good) agency is that they take references, check DBS status and check qualifications.
Also from your point of view agencies can help weed out time-wasters, sort out any problems that occur e.g. cancelled lessons etc

mummytime Thu 14-Apr-16 16:08:48

Word of mouth once you get started is good. The best to find would be any home ed groups in your area, they often run groups/classes especially near GCSE years.

Do you know anyone with children that age? Because talking to them would be a good start. Maybe advertising in local community group leaflets too.

ValancyJane Thu 14-Apr-16 20:43:46

Thanks all, that's really useful smile No I don't know anyone with children that age unfortunately. Hadn't thought of shop windows, and community leaflets is a good idea too. You also make a good case for agencies while getting established.

Thanks again! smile

BoSelectaBigBiff Thu 14-Apr-16 21:05:12