A Level stresses

(8 Posts)
Pezza69 Tue 08-Mar-16 19:18:16

I'm so angry with my Sons school and when I've complained in the past they tell him in class so he's now asked me not to contact them! The latest issue is regarding Sons Physics - he's been struggling through past year and regrets taking it. He revises constantly and is really conscientious to get good results. Latest issue is that he was told there would be a test last lesson with no idea what to revise for specifically. Turns up today to be told if they get a U in today's test that they will be withdrawn from the exam! This means he will not get a uni place. How dare they say that? Can they do this? How the heck can they expect him to 'perform' under that sort of pressure? So mad as I'm a tutor and would be facing disciplinary for some things they say to him. Not clear about A Level education though - are they right?

titchy Tue 08-Mar-16 19:53:58

Given that A levels are only a couple of months away I'd have assumed the test was basically a mock and he should revise everything. Why didn't he think that?

titchy Tue 08-Mar-16 19:55:08

And yes of course they can decide not to enter him, same as they could have decided not to let him continue to the A2 year if his AS results weren't up to scratch.

Leeds2 Tue 08-Mar-16 20:01:19

I suspect the reason that they weren't told what topics to revise was to make it more like the "real thing", when they have to revise everything, and are not given warning of what will come up. I don't think that is unfair at all.

I do think though that the class should've been told well in advance of the test that a U grade would mean withdrawal from the exam.

ProfGrammaticus Tue 08-Mar-16 20:01:47

How the heck can they expect him to 'perform' under that sort of pressure?