Year 10 and 11 - extracurricular day/evening trips

(22 Posts)
thelaundryfairy Tue 29-Dec-15 22:29:20

I am a secondary school teacher and next term I will be taking over from a colleague organising non-compulsory trips, usually in the evenings, for students in Years 10 and 11. We are allowed to go during the school day, but it´s preferred if it can be done after school (or at the weekend). The trips have to be of some educational benefit so the theme park, the water park and the shopping mall are out!

Last term, there was a trip to a classical music concert, a trip to watch ballet and a guided tour of the city´s archaeological museum.

Ideas I have for this coming term (based on what´s on in our city) include a guided tour of a large architectural practice, a trip to the planetarium, an exhibition of Roman sculptures, and a production of "West Side Story".

Please, if your children are around this age, ask them where they´d be interested in going, or let me know your own suggestions.

Thank you so much.

mygrandchildrenrock Tue 29-Dec-15 22:45:46

My Y10 DD said Roman sculptures, but thinks most of her friends would say West Side Story. She also said the planetarium sounds okay, but the Architectural one sounds boring!

thelaundryfairy Tue 29-Dec-15 22:48:27

Thanks so much!

Does she have any other ideas of places she or her friends or peers would like to visit?

mygrandchildrenrock Tue 29-Dec-15 22:59:29

'Museums and stuff, I dunno' was the helpful comment I've just prised out of her!!
We live in the middle of nowhere so I think it's quite hard to think of places to visit if you don't know what's available. We have a seal sanctuary, a natural seal beach, where hundreds of seal come to give birth at this time of year but not much else!

thelaundryfairy Tue 29-Dec-15 23:04:46