My DD is struggling with German in Y7, will she fail GCSE?

(25 Posts)
FiveHoursSleep Sat 09-May-15 20:46:01

DD has high functioning autism and is in a mainstream school where they have to take a MFL for GCSE. She is studying German this year and does not 'get it' at all. I did a GSCE equivalent in German so I could help her at this stage if she'd let me, but she won't.
She does quite well academically ( levels 6 and 7s in core subjects) but is not engaged with German at all. She thinks the teacher doesn't like her, and I can see that the teacher thinks she isn't trying because she isn't.
Unfortunately DD says she has 'an angry face', and 'forgets' to do her homework, gets detentions, does it badly etc etc
Has anyone else had a child do really badly in German in Y7, but go on to do 'okay' in GCSE?
I'm wondering if she should get some tutoring over the summer holidays to try and get her up to the same level the rest of the class is at?

anyquestions Sat 09-May-15 23:15:50

I studied German beyond A level and I would say that in my experience each new thing you learn tends to be building on the thing you learned before (probably true for any foreign language). So if your daughter is falling behind the rest of her class I think it would be very worthwhile getting her some coaching as soon as possible. May be a silly question, but does the German teacher definitely know that your daughter has autism? Communication within schools is not always all it could be. If you do go for coaching, I think it would be a good idea to have a conversation with the German teacher and let her know how engaged you are with helping your daughter to do well at German.

Millymollymama Sat 09-May-15 23:25:37